Scientific Affairs and Clinical Practice

Responds on behalf of the Association on all scientific matters relevant to laboratory medicine. The Committee strives to encourage best clinical practice within the profession.

The Committee liases on relevant scientific issues and the importance of laboratory medicine to patient management and direct patient care with the healthcare community and other external bodies, including:

  • Regulatory Authorities
  • National Institute of Clinical Excellence (NICE)
  • Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN)
  • Royal College of Pathologists
  • European Federation of Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine (EFLM)
  • International Federation for Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine (IFCC)

The Committee oversees Specialist Interest Groups which publish guidance and reviews on specific topics that need further attention: 

  • Paediatric Laboratory Medicine network (PaLMnet) Specialist Interest Group - focuses on the needs of babies and children in respect of core laboratory tests for paediatric metabolic diseases.
  • Pre Analytical Phase Specialist Interest Group - focuses on ensuring quality and standardisation in the preanalytical phase.

  • Liquid-Chromatography Tandem Mass Spectrometry Specialist Interest Group - focussed on producing measurement guidelines.

Our Scientific Affairs and Clinical Practice Committee represents the views of our members when liasing on relevant scientific issues and the importance of laboratory medicine to patient management and care with the healthcare community and other external bodies. The Committee is involved with:

  • Co-ordinating Association involvement on NICE Guideline Committees shaping future requirements for healthcare delivery in the UK and the role of the laboratory within them.
  • Producing best practice guidelines across a range of areas - often in conjunction with other professional bodies.
  • Awarding Scientific Development Scholarships to support high quality patient-focussed research undertaken by Association members.
  • Facilitating clinical and operational audits, both nationally and locally, to highlight areas of good practice and provide robust evidence to support the adoption of national guidelines and standardisation of testing.

Scientific Committee

  • Alexandra Yates - Director of Scientific Affairs
  • David Gaze - Deputy Director of Scientific Affairs
  • Mayur Patel - Director of Clinical Practice
  • Anna Barton - Member
  • Alaa Abdelrazik - Member
  • Rachel Marrington - Member
  • Ravinder Sodi - Member
  • Neil Syme - Member
  • Julie Tarling - Member
  • Dimitris Grammatopoulos - Member
  • Shonagh Haslam - Member
  • Ashleigh Rainey - Member - Immunology
  • Penny Cliff - Member - Microbiology
  • Gordon Avery - Corporate Member Representative
  • David Gaze - Chair of Clinical Science Review Committee
  • W S Wassif - Chair of National Audit Committee
  • Sophie Hepburn - Chair of Preanalytical Specialist Interest Group


Clinical Sciences Reviews Sub-Committee (CSRC)

Commissions reviews on Clinical Biochemistry topics which are published in the Annals of Clinical Biochemistry or other journals. 

Clinical Sciences Reviews Committee

  • Dr D Gaze - Chair
  • Dr K J Bates - Secretary
  • Dr D G Housley - Member
  • Dr S M MacKenzie - Member
  • Dr J Tarling - Member
  • Mr O Clifford-Mobley - Member
  • Dr S Wickramasinghe - Member
  • Dr S Brady - Member
  • Dr A Burns - Member

National Audit Group Sub-Committee

Coordinates audit activity in Clinical Biochemistry on a national basis. 

National Audit Group

  • Dr W S Wassif - Chair
  • Dr L J Ward - Deputy Chair
  • Ms H Fearon - Member - North West
  • Mrs J L Williams - Member - Trent
  • vacant - Member - Northern
  • Dr D Narayanan - Member - Yorkshire
  • Dr B V Roberts - Member - Northern Ireland
  • Dr B Byrne - Member - Republic of Ireland
  • Dr E Dewar - Member - Scotland
  • Mrs L Duvall - Member - South West and Wessex
  • Dr W S Wassif - Member - Southern
  • Mr P S West - Member - Thames
  • Moises Hernandez and Rachel Brixey-McCann - Wales
  • Dr N Barlow - Member - West Midlands
  • Dr C L Meek - Member - ACP
  • Mr M Mcfadden - IBMS
  • vacant - Member - RCPath
  • Mr F MacKenzie - Member - UK NEQAS
  • Mr G Davies - Member - WEQAS
  • Dr R Sadler - Member - Immunology
  • Dr L Berry - Member - Microbiology
  • Dr V Stemberk - Member - Webmaster


Preanalytics Specialist Interest Group

Pre Analytical Phase Specialist Interest Group - focuses on ensuring quality and standardisation in the preanalytical phase.

Preanalytics Committee Group

  • Sophie Hepburn - Chair
  • Sean Costelloe - Vice Chair
  • Jen Atherton - Member
  • Rachel Marrington - Member
  • Monika Jankute - Member
  • Mike Cornes - Member
  • Christopher Pitt - Member
  • Paula Marchetti - Member
  • Oliver Clifford-Mobley - Member
  • Robert Williams - Member
  • Naomi Elkin - Member
  • Roger Hoke - NAP
  • Oluwajoba Adegoke - BD Rep
  • Gareth Daives - WEQAS
  • Jamie West - IBMS
  • Barbara De La Salle - UK NEQAS
  • Nicola Swarbrick - SHOT Rep
  • Annie Cook - Trainee Representative


Clinical Practice Email Discussion Group

The Association supports an active clinical practice email discussion list hosted by Jiscmail (formerly Mailbase). We welcome members to join the list and participate in the latest debates: