Don Henderson Award

The Don Henderson Award is presented annually at the Schools Science Conference, an event which ACB member Don Henderson was instrumental in establishing. The event celebrated its tenth anniversary in March 2013, and is held in collaboration with the Royal College of Pathologists, Institute of Biomedical Science and Labs Are Vital initiative.

The event is one of the ways the ACB promotes itself to the wider community, explaining the work done by healthcare sciences and laboratory medicine and encouraging young people to take an interest in science and careers in the health services.

In 2011 the ACB agreed to sponsor an award in the name of Don Henderson consisting of an annual award of book tokens and presentation of a shield to the school making the best report and presentation on a piece of research they have undertaken. Further information on the Schools Science Conference is available at Winners of the Award are listed below:

Previous winners

2019   Fulham Boys School

2018   Leytonstone School

2017   Ellen Wilkinson School for Girls

2016   Highgate Wood School

2015   St Augustine's CE High School

2014   Bishop Douglass School

2013   La Sainte Union Catholic School, Camden

2012   La Sainte Union Catholic School, Camden

2011   Claremont High School